Blog Post 1: Introductions

Hello! My name is Carly Cundiff, and I am a junior double majoring in Adolescent/ Young Adult Education and English.

I am from Wadsworth, Ohio, which is a rural town about an hour south of Cleveland and 20 minutes west of Akron. I graduated from Wadsworth High School, the public school in my hometown.

I am very into journalism and other forms of writing. Part of the reason that I am studying to be a teacher is to instill a love of writing in my students. I am Managing Editor of The Carroll News and have written several short stories and an article that was published in Seventeen Magazine. Last year, I worked at Walt Disney World in Florida, which was one of the coolest experiences of my life. This semester, I will be working on my senior advocacy project for the Arrupe Scholars Program, which I am planning to involve some sort of Education-based social justice issue.

I tend to learn more by observing rather than active participation. I am not afraid to ask questions, and I will participate in discussions if I have something to say, but I tend to learn better by absorbing information taught to me through lecture than through discussion. In order for me to take creative risks, I have to feel comfortable both in my own intellect and that I will not be judged by either my classmates or my professor. Other than that, I am pretty comfortable speaking my mind if I think that what I have to say is important.

What matters to me about education the most is being able to shape the future generations of this country to be educated and knowledgable about the world that they live in. This article, written by teacher Michelle Johnson for a teachers blog in 2015, really shows my views on why I chose to pursue education.

http://www.milkeneducatorawards.org/educators/view/michelle-johnson

As far as questions go, I was wondering what drew you to want to teach future teachers as you did not pursue teaching yourself? What do you want future teachers to be able to accomplish in classrooms?

Leave a Reply

